Dreaming

I was at a Globe store. I remember waiting for the line built up in front of the mall entrance to dissipate, so I could watch a movie. It is 10 am on Christmas day, and I was mulling over between watching Beauty and the Bestie or All you need is Pag-Ibig. Hmmm.. Tough choice.

And then I spot him.

He’s standing just aways from me with his backpack slung over his shoulders. Nothing special caught my eye; he was an average guy, and as I type away my image of him is fading. But what stuck with me are those friendy eyes. I think I was sitting at my haunches by that time and the next thing I knew, he struck a conversation with me. We talked about what we were doing in the vicinity that early, and realized we were both after watching a movie. He offered getting a ticket for me since one of his friends at the time was already queuing for the moviehouse. He then left to advise his friend, and asked for me to wait for him. I thanked him and asked, “Why are you doing this for me?”. Came the reply, “I can’t help but notice you from across the room”.

(Afterwards I wondered why didn’t he just use his phone to contact his friend. But I digress.)

Then the randomest thing happened. Cecille, one of my elementary classmates that I never really felt much kinship with, bounced towards the store I’m in talking loudly. I approached her and tried to greet her by kissing cheeks but she was distracted by her friend, who followed in after.

Then the guy I spoke to earlier arrived with one guy and girl in tow. He introduced me to his friends, and I vaguely remember the girl’s nickname being very masculine and cool. At some point we pick up a toy, a grey thing thay could’ve passed as a scybard and there’s flipping through numerous costumes, weird skirts and all. Or maybe an apron. Anyway, the last thing I remember was staring upwards from my bunkbed and tracing the designs in my new toy. I also remember a promise of a new date, the reason why I was smiling like an idiot. Oddly enough, the lighting from the last scene matches the one I woke up to.

Leave a Reply

