The Call – Regina Spektor

I was reading a fanfic from this lovely writer (can’t link the specific fic because her works are community member-locked) a few days ago which turned out to be a songfic. This was the song used, and by the end of reading it my eyes were wet from suppressed tears. It was that good. After reveling in my feels, I wondered where I heard the song before; it sure sounded familiar. Turns out, when I searched for it online, it was part of Prince Caspian’s soundtrack. This frustrated me to no end, because that movie was released five years ago and I only appreciated it now. But maybe it was meant to be; after all, part of what attracted me to The Call is how applicable it is to my life now.

I’ll come back
When you call me
No need to say goodbye

This relates to me so much because I’m about to graduate. The big day’s only a few weeks from now, and I can’t help but be wistful about my college life as well as my future real-world-adult-working life. This is it; I’m almost part of the unemployed working force. I can’t say I made much difference, just because I don’t feel like I did something significant; but for those I have had a pleasure of encountering during my stay in the university, thank you. This is dedicated to you, you guys I’ve met along this journey, because you made my college life all the more interesting. I have grown as a person, and I believe you have contributed a lot to this development. As I leave this chapter of my life, I won’t cry, nor will I be sad, because there’s no need for goodbyes; just beckon, and I’ll be there.

Leave a Reply

