The Lizzie Bennet Diaries

So you can relate to what I’m saying, here’s a link for the series: www.youtube.com/lizziebennet

I figured, since I’m watching this right now, why not write about it? This beloved series of mine is a discovery from my university’s official paper (or at least the one in English), The Lasallian. Well actually, from their website (which you can view here, if you’re interested: http://thelasallian.com/)). Side note: the sentence before this is proof of my ever changing train of thought. Told you I’m a bad storyteller. You’ve been warned.

Image

Anyway, before I get even more sidetracked, The Lizzie Bennet Diaries is a modern-day adaptation of Pride and Prejudice (P&P) in the form of short home videos from Lizzie Bennet’s (Elizabeth Bennet) point of view. A lot of their videos consist of conversations with her best friend, Charlotte Lu (Charlotte Lucas), or with her sisters Lydia and Jane, and some involve reenactment of certain scenes. It is also common for the other characters in the story to show up in front of the camera, some unknowingly so. I’m a big P&P fan since high school, so the review for this one immediately caught my attention. What I find interesting about this series is even though the plot is over 200 years old, a lot of viewers still regard some of the comments in YouTube as ‘spoilers’. I mean, really? Some people need to read more. I’ve been a fan from the start and been anticipating every episode uploaded (which they do every Monday and Thursday, but with the time zone difference in our country it becomes Tuesday and Friday), sometimes to the point that I stay up late just to be able to watch the new video immediately. I think it’ll be more organized for me to create a list of reasons why I love this series, instead of ramble on and on in an incomprehensible manner.

I love thee LBD (Lizzie Bennet Diaries). Let me count the ways.

1. I now have a new found appreciation for P&P. This sounds a bit silly to me, because I read the book several times already, but it stands true. The fresh take on the plot lines of the story made me love the original text more, plus it made me realize some points that I’ve missed while reading. Because let’s face it, the writing is a bit daunting simply because it’s old fashioned. I only understood half of what’s going on in the story after I’ve re-read it. I’m not in the habit of having a dictionary with me all the time, so I often rely on context clues when I’m reading; this is not an advisable practice when you’re reading a classic. I recommend people with book reports due on P&P simply because they’ll understand the main story better.

2. Sky is the limit for storytelling. It’s lovely because although the average length of the videos are less than five minutes, the writers have the freedom to produce as much videos as they want. Unlike in TV series and movie adaptations, the web series practically has no limit when it comes to perusing plot lines and charming details. Also, I think it’s important to note that each character has their own twitter account (which the writing staff painstakingly updates, and most of which I follow), and other social networking sites relevant to the character’s personality. This makes every subplot interesting, because it tells us about the other characters’ point of view (aside from the main character, Lizzie). Also, there are two other channels that exist related to the main one; that, for me, is just genius. The story arcs of these channels intersect at some point, and it makes the viewer feel immersed into the story. 

3. The whole thing is well put together. Not to mention detailed. And creative. Props to the writing staff for thinking out of the box with the storytelling ideas aforementioned, and the production team for the consistency they bring. Even the casting is perfect; every actor delivers just the right amount of enthusiasm when fulfilling their roles, that I can immediately imagine the 19th century setting I’ve always conjured up in my head as P&P. The styling of each character also suits them. When they role play, they somehow manage to show their character alongside the character they’re portraying; this baffles me, but it works. Also, they have a lot of loose ends hanging that they turn into openings for the main plot, which I find amusing. They also time occasions (and holidays) to match the flow of the story, which I figure is hard because they need to tie everything in a pretty little bow, under five minutes. Still works.

4. Darcy (Day). Yes, last but not the least in my list yayy it rhymes! is Mr. Enigma himself. Dear Lizzie cannot stop talking about this guy; ever since their first encounter at some wedding, every other video seem to feature the modern version of the most beloved hero in classics history. Of course I’m talking about Fitzwilliam Darcy (he doesn’t need another name, this one’s just perfect). The anticipation for this character started from Day 1, and almost exploded because of the preview clip at the end of Episode 59: Staff Spirit showing the man’s torso. After that enormous fangirling happened, and amounted to the day dubbed as “Darcy Day” (see Episode 60: Are You Kidding Me!). Yes, the culmination of all the conspiracies of who might play this fictional character (and how affected his tone will be) resulted to the channel’s highest ratings. I remember watching the video the morning after it’s been posted, and the views were already past ten thousand. That’s how powerful fan girls can be. Even fan girls of classical adaptations.

So there. I’ve revealed one of my obsessions to you. And I sound like a geek for liking this stuff, but damn. The series has me hooked.

One comment on “The Lizzie Bennet Diaries

  1. segmation says:

    How out of the box!

Leave a Reply

